gulf of mexico shrimp boats

The Gulf of Mexico (GOM) region includes Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas, West Florida, Mexico, and Cuba.

Important Gulf species include Caribbean spiny lobster, warmwater shrimp, oysters, blue crab, stone crab, crawfish (freshwater), groupers, red snapper, tunas, king mackerel, mullet, and menhaden.

U.S., federal waters begin where state jurisdiction ends and extend out to 200 miles offshore. Federal waters in the Gulf of Mexico begin three nautical miles off Louisiana and Mississippi, and nine nautical miles off Alabama, Texas, and the west coast of Florida. The U.S. Gulf coastline is approximately 1680 miles in length.

Gulf of Mexico Fisheries Councils

Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission

Gulf State Fisheries






Related Information

USA Commercial Fishing

Mexico Commercial Fishing

Caribbean Commercial Fishing

Commercial Fisheries

Fishes of the Gulf of Mexico Regional Fish Poster