This page provides an overview of USA federal, regional, and state commercial fishing regulations.

Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act

The Magnuson Fishery Conservation and Management Act of 1976 established a U.S. exclusive economic zone (EEZ) between 3 and 200 miles offshore, and created eight regional fishery councils to manage the living marine resources within that area. The bill was amended on October 11, 1996 and re-named the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act.

Code of Federal Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government of the United States of America.

Individual Fishing Quota (IFQ) Programs

Individual Fishing Quota (IFQ) programs are a type of limited access privilege program (LAPP), which provide individual fishermen or corporations the exclusive privilege to harvest a certain percentage of the total allowable catch (TAC) of a fishery.

Federal – Regional Commercial Fishing Regulations

National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA Fisheries Service)

NMFS Permit Shop

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

New England Fisheries Management Council

Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council

South Atlantic Fishery Management Council

Caribbean Fishery Management Council

Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council

North Pacific Fishery Management Council

Pacific Fishery Management Council

Western Pacific Fishery Management Council

State Commercial Fishing Regulations

Maine Department of Marine Resources

Massachusetts Dept. of Marine Fisheries

New Hampshire Fish and Game Department

Connecticut Marine Fisheries Division

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

New York DEC

New Jersey Fish and Wildlife

Maryland Department of Natural Resources

Delaware DNREC

Virginia Marine Resources Commission (VMRC)

North Carolina Department of Marine Fisheries

Alaska Department of Fish & Game

Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife

Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife

California Department of Fish & Game

Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources

Related Information

USA Commercial Fishing

International Commercial Fishing Regulations